Tuesdays election to feature local proposals and contested races

Crawford County voters to decide millage renewals for library system, transportation, and school district on Tuesday, August 4
Voters will decide a variety of local proposals and local governmental races during the primary election on Tuesday, August 4.
The Crawford County Library, Crawford AuSable School District, and Crawford County Transportation Authority all have millage renewals on the August 4 ballot that generate money through collection of “general ad valorem taxes imposed on real and tangible personal property.”
The Transportation Authority renewal – “0.7027 ($0.7027 per $1,000.00 of taxable value of all such property) for a period of five years, 2021 through 2025 inclusive” – is “for the purpose of paying costs of operating the Crawford County Transportation Authority (known as Dial-A-Ride),” according to the ballot language.
The Crawford County Library is asking for “0.4458 ($.4458 per $1,000.00 of taxable value of all such property) for a period of eight years, 2020 through 2027” for “providing funds for all library purposes,” according to the ballot.
The school district is looking to “levy the statutory rate of not to exceed 18 mills on all property, except principal residence and other property exempted by law, required for the school district to receive its revenue per pupil foundation allowance,” according to the ballot. “The estimate of the revenue the school district will collect if the millage is approved and 18 mills are levied in 2021 is approximately $6,373,889 (this is a renewal of millage that will expire with the 2020 tax levy).”
There are a variety of contested races on the August 4 election ballot for Crawford County voters, depending on their precincts, including Crawford County Clerk/Register of Deeds, Beaver Creek Township Supervisor, Beaver Creek Township Clerk, Beaver Creek Township Trustee, Frederic Township Supervisor, Frederic Township Treasurer, Grayling Charter Township Clerk, Grayling Charter Township Trustee, and South Branch Township Supervisor.
City of Grayling voters will decide a renewal millage for sidewalk snow removal.
“Being a renewal and as authorized by the Grayling City Charter, shall the City of Grayling levy a millage in an amount of 1.25 mills for four years (2020 through 2023) to cover the cost of snow removal from all City sidewalks? This tax is estimated to raise $64,137.37 in the first year. The taxes raised by this millage shall be limited to the costs related to snow removal from all sidewalks within the City,” according to the August 4 election ballot.
Frederic Township voters will have to decide millage renewal proposals for fire service and ambulance service. One proposal “reestablishes the 2 mill fire millage previously approved by the electors that expired after the December, 2019 levy. Specifically, the proposal renews the previously authorized 1.9338 mills and restores the .0662 mills rolled back by the Headlee Amendment,” according to the ballot. The second proposal “reestablishes the 1 mill ambulance millage previously approved by the electors that expired after the December, 2019 levy. Specifically, the proposal renews the previously authorized .9669 mills and restores the .0331 mills rolled back by the Headlee Amendment.” According to the ballot, the fire millage “would raise an estimated $115,811 for the Township in 2020” and the ambulance millage “would raise an estimated $57,905 for the Township in 2020.” Both millages are for four years, according to the ballot language.
Maple Forest Township has a four-year millage renewal proposal on the ballot to pay for its emergency services through Frederic Township. “Frederic Township charges 2.00 mills for Emergency Services (fire and ambulance). Maple Forest will collect 1 mill for emergency services with the remaining 1 mill or/balance to be paid from the Township Improvement Fund. The amount of revenue the township will collect if that millage is approved and levied by the township in the first calendar year is estimated to be $25,335.60. The proposed millage is a renewal millage,” according to the ballot.
A voter’s address determines his or her polling location. According to Vote411 and township sources, voting locations for Crawford County are: City of Grayling residents, Grayling City Hall, 1020 City Boulevard;  Lovells Township residents, Lovells Township Hall, 8405 Twin Bridge Road; Maple Forest Township residents, Maple Forest Township Hall, 8996 North Sherman Road; Frederic Township residents, Frederic Township Hall, 6470 Manistee Street; Beaver Creek Township residents, Beaver Creek Township Hall, 8888 South Grayling Road; Grayling Charter Township residents, Grayling Township Hall, 2090 Viking Way; South Branch Township residents, South Branch Township Hall, 5245 N. M-18.
Voting times for all of these locations are listed at 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. for the August 4 primary election.
The Vote411 site, www.vote411.org, offers map directions to polling locations.
Face coverings are currently required inside of Grayling City Hall and inside of township halls due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
The August 4 election ballot can be viewed online at https://mvic.sos.state.mi.us. Click on the “View Ballots by Precinct” option on the left side of the page and use the sliders to choose the Election, County, Jurisdiction, and Precinct.

Crawford County Avalanche

Mailing Address
Box 490
Grayling, MI 49738

Phone: 989-348-6811
FAX: 989-348-6806
E-Mail: information@crawfordcountyavalanche.com

Comment Here